

American Association of Teachers of German Maryland / DC Metro Chapter

STRENGTHENING GERMAN PROGRAMS IN THE MARYLAND & DC REGION

Saturday, September 28, 2019 9:00am – 4:00pm

> Clipper Room Shriver Hall Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, Maryland

8:30 Registration / Breakfast

9:00 Welcome, Deborah McGee Mifflin, Johns Hopkins University

9:15 Successful Models for Integration of German into the School System Kimberly Banks, Coordinator of World Languages, Howard County Michael Dinkins, Principal, Laurel High School, Prince Georges County Julie Koser, Department Chair & Professor of German, University of Maryland Katrina Griffin, Department Chair & German Teacher, North County H. S. Jörn Esser, German Teacher, Overlook Elementary School

Moderators: Mohamed Esa, McDaniel College, and Amy Rill, Howard High School

- 10:30 Break
- 10:45 Support for German from Organizations / Community
 Birgit Alberg, Culture Section, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany
 Helmut Kehlenbeck, Zentralstelle f
 ür das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA)
 Jan Marie Steele, Goethe-Institut, Washington
 Anton Smoot, German Society of Maryland
 Tyrone Parker, MFLA Board Member

Moderators: Cerue Diggs, Laurel High School, and Marilyn Murphy, DeMatha Catholic High School for Boys

12:15 Lunch

1:15 "Goal Setting for Expanding German in our Institutions"

Facilitators: Kerstin Hopkins, GLC, and Susanne Sutton, UMBC

Participant Teachers:		
<u>Elementary & Middle</u>	<u>High School</u>	<u>Higher Ed</u>
Jörn Esser	Jimmie Brown	Annette Budzinski-Luftig
Elke Rogers	Mary Capellan	Joe Cunningham
	Cerue Diggs	Mohamed Esa
	Bro. Charles Filberg	Margaret Gonglewski
	Will Funk-Heiser	Julie Koser
	Katrina Griffin	Deborah McGee Mifflin
	Rick Jones	Katharina Rudolf
	Antje Krueger	Aleksandra Starcevic
	Mariah Ligas	Susanne Sutton
	Mary McDonald	Meghan Tisserand
	Erica McGinn	Heidi Wheeler
	Marilyn Murphy	
	Tyrone Parker	
	Justin Quam	
	Amy Rill	
0.1		

Other

Kerstin Hopkins, Principal of GLC Carroll Phillips, retired

3:00 Wrap up & Evaluation Closing Remarks **Special thanks** to the organizing committee and all of the Board Members of the AATG MD/DC Metro Chapter.

Deborah McGee Mifflin, Johns Hopkins University, President Annette Budzinski-Luftig, Towson University, Vice-President Cerue Diggs, Laurel High School, Secretary Jody Christophe, McDonogh School, Treasurer

Mohamed Esa, McDaniel College Cora Hofstetter, North County High School Kerstin Hopkins, German Language Courses, German International School Marilyn Murphy, DeMatha Catholic High School for Boys Amy Rill, Howard High School Susanne Sutton, University of Maryland, Baltimore County



German@Hopkins



VIELEN DANK FÜRS MITMACHEN! THANK YOU FOR COMING! KEEP IN TOUCH!